It’s Finleys Turn Now!

Scar House reservoir with Great Whernside

I first took grandson Mackenzie out on the moors when he was about 5. He will be 13 in a month and we have walked literally hundreds of miles together on dozens and dozens of walks in England and Scotland.

But Mackenzie has 2 younger brothers and a younger sister too – Finley, Domonic and Rebecca. Finley is 11 and he has been out several times with me, as have all of them. But never as often and never as far as Mackenzie.

Scar House reservoir

Now you might ask why don’t I take Mackenzie and Finley together – well, there is a bit of sibling rivalry – in other words they fight. I have taken them out together before and it nearly always ended in tears (often mine). But as they are getting older, and hopefully more sensible, I will try it this year with a short walk and see how they get on.

Anyway a couple of weeks ago, as Mackenzie was grounded for some minor misdemeanour, I decided it would be a good time to take Finley out for the day. I packed a flask of chicken noodle soup and some pasties, sandwiches, snacks and drinks and told Fin it would be a long walk. He was up for it, as was I.

Finley at the start of the walk
Half way around Scar House reservoir

I decided to throw in some good old Yorkshire scenery – Finley is a very sensitive boy and really appreciates the views so I decided we would go to Nidderdale and walk around the reservoirs at the top of the Dale. There are two massive reservoirs built at the turn of last century to provide water to power the mills of Bradford many, miles away in the valley bottoms.

A ‘local’

Scar House reservoir is the first and biggest one – it is about 4 miles as a circular walk – not too difficult. The second one upstream is Angram, and it’s terrain is different – much harder going and difficult in places – but with much better views.

I chose this walk as I wasn’t sure how far Finley would want to go – if he got tired we could turn back after the first reservoir, but if he wanted to keep on we would walk the second. As it was he was happy to have a go at Angram.

Scar House – with Dead Mans Hill in front

Eventually we came to some jumbled stones and what looked like some foundations of houses surrounded by trees. We had reached the deserted hamlet of Lodge. It was tiny, and an information board put up by local archaeologists said it was lived in until the 1920s. Several old photos showed some of the inhabitants standing in their Sunday best in doorways, and a plan of the houses was drawn. By the time the reservoir was started Lodge was empty. All that remains are some Sycamore trees and a few piles of stones.

The road to Lodge
The remains of the Methodist Chapel at Lodge with Angram dam in the distance
The outskirts of Lodge

By this time we were getting near Dead Mans Hill. This hill takes it’s name from the legend that says 3 tinkers were buried, headless on the top. The story goes that the three were returning from a trip to market and stopped overnight in a hostel along the side of the coaching inn. The landlady, seeing the tinkers were spending freely, along with her daughter drugged and murdered them and buried them in the top of the hill, minus their heads. The tinkers had a dog, which wouldn’t leave the burial site and eventually the bodies were discovered and the landlady and her daughter were hanged at Knaresborough. Whether the tale is true or not, I always get a shiver whenever I pass Dead Man Hill.

Dead Mans Hill, with winter snows still lingering in the gullies

We eventually reached a nice spot to stop for some lunch and I asked Finley how he was feeling and whether he felt up to the next stage which would be harder. He said he was quite happy to carrying on – he was enjoying it immensely.

Lunch
Angram reservoir with Great Whernside in the distance

Carrying on, the path started to get much harder and boggy. We soon picked up some sheep who followed up us for some distance, until we went through a gate and they couldn’t follow. They must have thought we had food.

Stop following us!
Food at last!

On the far side of the reservoir there were a couple of wooden footbridges we had to cross to avoid getting too wet – and the views across Little Whernside were stunning.

Little Whernside in the distance

We started to make our way back through some superb scenery. I was getting quite weary and I think Finley was too.

It was a good walk – with a few diversions we did the gps said 8 miles. It felt like it too!

A Lapwing
Getting weary now
Evening over Nidderdale

17 thoughts on “It’s Finleys Turn Now!

  1. Such beautiful country — those skies: I’m envious. In Colorado we usually have our pick between harsh light with no/few clouds and overcast with no sun. Watching several British YouTube photographers (Thomas Heaton, James Popsys, Shoot Film Like A Boss, et al), I think it’d be great to spend some time there with my cameras.

    I like the Dead Man’s Hill lore — I’m not superstitious and don’t believe in most ghosts; but I do love the lore.

    And I laughed at the “(mostly mine)” comment. I can imagine you’re pleased to have grandsons who share your enthusiasm for a long walk.

    Like

    1. Thank you, I must admit I do prefer clouds to no clouds. I too follow Thomas Heaton and James Popsys, and a few other people. Moreton Hilmer is a favourite. I am blessed with such good, varied scenery on my doorstep and the boys appreciate it too although Mackenzie is a bit complacent I think. Glad you like the post, I am sure you would get some excellent pics if you were here, it would be hard not to 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I have good days and bad days, all depends on how my knee feels when I wake up. It is difficult to plan walks, as on a bad day it hurts after a mile or so whereas on a good day I can walk 10-15 with little pain. Very odd..

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you – I was first taken out for hikes in the country at a young age, and I have taken my daughter and my grandsons out too. They all love going and I feel it is important for them to get out in the wilds. Glad you like the photos 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It surprises me how much stamina they have. The other grandson, who is used to walking, seems to be able to go on forever. Finley did well, especially as he isn’t used to it. It does them good to get out in the fresh air 🙂

      Like

    1. He got a little tired towards the end – but it was a long way and he isn’t as used to it as his older brother – but he did very well considering it was a hard walk. The countryside around there is very dramatic, and the weather was good for us too. He definitely wants to go again and I am happy to take him 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.